• Sign up to get official La Georgia Paperie updates!

    Join 27 other subscribers
  • Contact Me

    Feel free to contact me at lageorgiapaperie@gmail.com. I'd love to hear from you!!
  • Me!

  • Featured On

  • Archives

  • Categories


Gender Reveal Cake

We recently found out the sex of our baby. I didn’t just want to call my dad to tell him what his first grandchild will be, of course I wanted to do something more creative! Well, semi-creative. I decided to do a gender reveal cake, which is a trend right now. I bought a Betty Crocker white cake mix and added 1 1/4 cups water, 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce, 3 egg whites and 10 drops of food coloring(pink or blue to signify the sex!). After I baked the cakes (two 9” rounds) I frosted them with chocolate frosting. I made sure I covered the whole thing really well as to not ruin the surprise! For being relatively healthy, the cake tastes pretty darn yummy! I always use applesauce instead of oil when baking cakes but had never used just egg whites.

On top of the cake I cut out some letters with my Cricut to spell out “ITS A.” Yes, I know the “its” should have an apostrophe, so don’t judge :). I used the Birthday Cakes Cricut cartridge for the letters, I think I cut them out at 2”. The paper is Pear Pizzaz from Stampin’ Up!

Here is a picture of the cake.

Curious as to what color I dyed the inside? Here’s a picture right after my dad cut out the first piece!


Yep, we’re having a boy! There was no denying it at our ultrasound the other day, he was showing off the goods for everyone to see! Baby boy was also measuring three days ahead of schedule, so that would put his due date at November 30 instead of December 3.

I just can’t wait to meet our baby boy!

Click here to check out my Stampin’ Up! store and keep up with my pregnancy at my other blog here.

3 Responses

  1. Hey – congratulations! I just heard about this gender reveal cake idea a few weeks ago, it looks like a really fun way to find out what you’re having!

  2. Congratulations! I love your gender reveal cake idea. Boys are wonderful I have 8 of them. 🙂

Leave a comment