• Sign up to get official La Georgia Paperie updates!

    Join 28 other followers

  • Contact Me

    Feel free to contact me at lageorgiapaperie@gmail.com. I'd love to hear from you!!
  • Me!

  • Featured On

  • Archives

  • Categories


Deja Vu?

“Le Sigh” seems to be my phrase of choice lately… le sigh. I finally got confirmation about my news I’ve been teasing you all with for the last week.

As some of you know, I work at a craft store. By no means is this my dream job, but, it’s a job. Currently, I am one of two bookkeepers for the store. I do a lot more than just bookkeeping, but that’s the easiest way to put it. This job works out perfectly for me, because if you remember last summer I developed plantar fasciitis in my feet, making it excruciatingly painful for me to stand for an extended period of time. I am able to sit down for nearly half my shift on most days, so I barely have problems with my feet anymore (certain days where I stand longer I’ll have some pain, but not nearly as bad as it was).

For a while now we’ve been hearing about some major changes that would be coming to the store. It had a lot of people worried, but because the job I do is so specific and me and my counterpart never seem to have enough time for everything, I thought everything was going to work out fine. I even asked my boss at one point, and she basically said “You don’t need to worry, we need both of you!”

But, I was a little worried after talking with some coworkers and learning that not all stores have two bookkeepers. I got really suspicious last Friday when I saw that I was scheduled to work Monday (February 28). I never work Mondays. Ever since I started in my position I’ve had Mondays and Thursdays off (along with every other weekend). My counterpart has always been good about asking me if she needs to switch a shift, so I knew it wasn’t because of that. I halfheartedly hoped that it was a mistake, but knew there was something more to it. So, I went up to my manager and casually asked why I had been scheduled Monday.

Surprisingly, she told me the truth, which I totally appreciated! Basically, due to all the changes, the store is going to have just one bookkeeper going forward. My counterpart has been with the company for 5 years, and I’ve not even hit my 1 year anniversary, so it was an obvious choice on who to pick to continue in the position. The reason why I was scheduled Monday was so that I could have a meeting with the District Manager about losing my job.

Because I knew, I had the whole weekend to mull it over. I kept my cool at the store on Friday, but when I got home I kind of had a mini breakdown… more on that later. Monday came and went, and while I was there I never had the meeting with the DM, who I saw working at the store. So, that left me even more confused! I thought maybe my manager had gotten it wrong, and that I was not losing my job.

Well, not so. When I got in this morning my manager apologized for not having the meeting on Monday (today was the first time I’d seen her since then). So, she was the one to hand me the letter from corporate explaining that I would not be able to continue with the company in my current position. Even though I didn’t want to hear it, I was actually glad it came from my boss instead of her boss, because it was much more casual and less intimidating, which was nice (she’s actually a really good manager, and does a great job of walking that line between being a friend and being a boss).

So, as of April 16 I’m out of a j-o-b. With all the new changes going on, there are some new positions opening up, but none that really appeal to me. Certain aspects of some of them could be cool, but all of them involve standing your entire shift basically. That of course, is not something I can psychically handle. Soooo, I really don’t know what I’m going to do. My boss encouraged me to stay on at least to teach the scrapbook classes and host crop nights, but after being burned by the company, I’m not sure if that’s something I want to do.

And just to be clear, I have nothing against my boss or counterpart, all my frustrations have been directed towards the decision-makers at the corporate offices (at least I think that’s where this is all coming from).

Back to my breakdown last Friday. When I lose my job on April 16 it will be nearly 2 years (to the day) since I lost my job at Robbins Bros., the jewelry store I worked for. With Robbins Bros. though, the entire store closed, so I was in the same boat as all of my coworkers. This time around, I’ve only heard of one other person at the store getting “screwed” in this whole mess.

But seriously, who is unlucky enough to be laid off twice in two years?!?

Me, that’s who! It’s just so not fair. So, back to the drawing board for the 4th time since I graduated college less than 4 years ago. So, if any of you know of anything in the Chicago area, please, please, please let me know! My only requirement is to be able to work (most of the shift) sitting down, that’s it… I’m not picky in the least!

In the mean time, I’m thinking of becoming a Stampin’ Up! demonstrator. If you’re not familiar with SU!, it’s a paper crafting company with a similar business model to Mary Kay or Avon. I doubt I would be able to make a living wage from it, but it could potentially be some extra income and be a lot of fun as well! You guys would purchase stuff from me, right?

Alrighty, well there’s my gripe session. Hopefully I’ve gotten it all out and contained to this one blog post. Like I said the other day, I hate bringing my Negative Nancy-ness on to my blog, but, sometimes a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do! And if you’ve made it to the bottom of this post, kudos to you, it definitely wasn’t a fun read and was about as long as War and Peace.

Lindsey, out!

10 Responses

  1. Aww, I’m so sorry you’re losing your job! That sucks. You sure have every right to come here and share the cruddy stuff with your cyber-BFFs! I am sending good job vibes to you chica!

  2. stinks! but just know everything happens for a reason! I really look up to the fact you that you have found something you do enjoy and love. something will come your way…

    i’ve still haven’t had a real job since i’ve moved to here and it’s so frustrating… it’s hard when the economy is horrible and we’re swimming upstream (and feeling like we have to be amazing because of our college, if you know what i mean). at least we have sportive families and husbands!!

    hang in there…

    also, PS, thanks for the award, i’ve been so crazy busy i haven’t even had time to acknowledge you!

  3. …and by sportive, i mean supportive!

  4. I’m so sorry to hear about you losing your job. 4 people at my office just got lay off notices and everybody is feeling the anxiety. When one door closes……BTW-I would totally order SU products from you!
    Good luck!!

    • Thanks Trena! I hope your job is safe, I am sending good vibes to you! And I will definitely post when I get everything set up with Stampin’ Up!, filling out the forms as I type this, so stay tuned 🙂

  5. I really enjoy your blog and I just read this post tonight. Sorry to hear about your job loss. I recently moved back to my home state of Georgia and I too am having a hard time finding a job that I have experience in. I resigned from a position in Delaware that I had been in for 7 years. Since my husband and I lived 1,000 miles away from our families for so long, we felt it was time to end the corporate madness (my round trip commute was close to 3 hrs each day) and move back home to be closer to our parents and siblings. It’s been tough for me psychologically by having to start over. My DH is able to work from home by telecommuting so his position didn’t change because of our move. I am the one feeling the pressure and it’s mainly me applying it to myself because he has been so supportive. It’s tough though. I wish you the best of luck in your job search and I hope your SU venture is a success!

    • Thank you for your comment, and kind words of encouragement! I wish you the best of luck as well being back in Georgia! I hope you can find a job soon! When I was laid off the first time, I enjoyed the free time for maybe 2 months, but after that I was going stir crazy! I’m also so glad to find another crafter who uses WordPress, most use Blogger I feel, but WP is totally better :).

  6. Oh boo! I just read this now. I hope that something opens up for you very soon!

Leave a Reply

