• Sign up to get official La Georgia Paperie updates!

    Join 29 other followers

  • Contact Me

    Feel free to contact me at lageorgiapaperie@gmail.com. I'd love to hear from you!!
  • Me!

  • Featured On

  • Archives

  • Categories


Veggie Spaghetti!

Yesterday the hubster and I did the unthinkable, and joined a gym! We just joined the club at our local Park District, so it’s nothing fancy, but will get the job done! Plus, it’s close to our place, and we got a great deal on the memberships. We got to the gym around 10:30am and had an hour long orientation with one of the gym’s trainers. Not only did  he show us around, he showed us the proper way to use the equipment, so we were able to get quite a workout in! After the orientation we played a not so quick game of P-I-G in the basketball court (I won, P to P-I-G!). I don’t see us going to the gym every day, but we are definitely going to try and go 2-3 times per week.

A quick word to the wise: If you’re doing WW (or any other weight loss plan where you “weigh in”), do not workout before your weigh in! It might sound like a good idea, but trust me, it’s not! During a workout your muscles warm up and expand a bit, causing you to temporarily gain a bit of weight on the scale. Save the workouts for after the scale!

On our way home from the gym we stopped and grabbed some 6” subbys from Subway.

Turkey + lettuce + pickles + cheese + mustard + spice = delish!

I had a lazy afternoon yesterday, and was pretty much parked in front of my laptop catching up on different blogs. When I got thirsty I noticed we were out of both Minute Maid Light Lemonade and VitaminWater Zero. It’s hard for me to drink a glass of water unless it’s right before I go to bed, so I opted for this beverage to quench my thirst!

MGD 64 > Bud Select 55

Don’t worry, drinking by myself in the broad daylight will not become a habit, but it was a nice treat :). MGD 64 has to be one of my favorite beers. I usually ask for it when I go out, but most places don’t carry it. If I can’t get a 64 I’ll usually opt for a Coors Light or Bud Light (I went to college in Missouri, which is total Budweiser country!).

For dinner I had originally planned on making a healthier version of my Crunchy Onion Chicken, but had a better idea instead! I had remembered hearing about making a spaghetti-type meal out of squash a while back, and looked in to it a bit more. To my surprise, you can’t use any squash to make this dish, it’s a specific type of squash, appropriately named Spaghetti Squash. It looked pretty easy to make, so off to the Jewel I went to find one!

I found it, and picked up a few other items to complete the meal.

Ingredients!

First thing I did was poke a few holes in the Spaghetti Squash, and then put it in the microwave for 11 minutes. While the squash was cooking, I cut up the yellow squash and zucchini.

I then sprayed a pan with some PAM and started to cook the veggies.

Mushrooms make everything better!

After about 5 minutes I added some Baby Bella mushrooms to the pan. After the Spaghetti Squash was done cooking, I carefully cut it in half, and cooked each half for an additional 2 minutes.


After the squash was done cooking, I scooped out all the seeds and goop (I’m so technical!). If you wanted you could cook the squash seeds like pumpkin seeds, but I just tossed them because you guys know about my hatred for seeds.


To create the “spaghetti” all you have to do is take a fork and scrap the meat of the squash and it will magically appear! It was kind of neat to see it happen.


I did this to both sides of the squash.


The squash yielded quite a bit of “spaghetti!”


In to the bowl went some steamed cauliflower…


And the squash, zucchini and mushroom mix.


I mixed it all up and added some pasta sauce.


Finally I added a generous portion of light parmesan cheese. I really liked how this dish turned out! Although, the “spaghetti” was a bit crunchy, so next time I will definitely cook it a little longer to make it softer. And for those interested, all the veggies are free on WW, but with the sauce and cheese this huge dish was just 4 points!

One Spaghetti Squash makes about enough for 4 large portions, so I had leftovers for lunch today!

Have any of you tried Spaghetti Squash? How did you prepare it, and what did you think?


3 Responses

  1. Yum! I haven’t made spaghetti squash in a long time. I did it in the oven and it took forever, plus mine came out a little watery so DH wasn’t too excited about it. I do love the way it shreds like spaghetti and it is a very good option instead of pasta. Your dish looks super tasty! Thanks for sharing-I’ll have to try the microwave method.
    Good going on the workouts!!

  2. It was a very well thought out and tasty meal. Thanks wifey.

  3. […] made it basically the same way as I did last week, but had to use a jar of mushrooms since we didn’t have any fresh ones in the house. I also […]

Leave a Reply

