• Sign up to get official La Georgia Paperie updates!

    Join 28 other followers

  • Contact Me

    Feel free to contact me at lageorgiapaperie@gmail.com. I'd love to hear from you!!
  • Me!

  • Featured On

  • Archives

  • Categories


Valentine’s Day Guest Blogger!

Today’s guest designer/blogger is none other than my husband, Ant. He made me a Valentine’s Day card, and I think it actually turned out pretty cute! If you’d like, he also has a blog, which is Crisis Movies.

Well, my lovely wife challenged me about a month ago to make her a card. I figured Valentine’s Day would be ideal since it’s about proving your love to one another. While I knew my card wouldn’t turn out perfect, I don’t think it was that bad.  Take a look:


Pretty good, eh? Now let me explain how I got here.  I started out with a normal sheet of what crafters call cardstock and sliced it in half vertically making it an even 4.25 inches.  That is my card.  The outline in the middle is two pieces of cardstock on top of one another.  The outline is from the Just Because Cricut cartridge and I don’t remember if the outer one was 5 or 5.5 inches, but the one with the flowers is only .25 inches less than the outer one. I lined those up and stuck them together to form the middle. The hearts on the side are just a string of jeweled “blings” that I found at Michael’s one day. The heart in the middle is from the Sweethearts Cricut cartridge.  Again, I don’t recall the exact size but the inside is just .25 inches less than the red outer heart. There is another smaller heart on the inside.

The two heart stamps were bought at Meijer and didn’t go on the card as I’d hoped.  But the “Happy Valentine’s Day” stamp that Lindsey had in her case turned out perfectly. The final step was shading the edges with some red Chalk Ink and Voila!  My card is done.

It took me a while, but it wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be.  I don’t know if I’ll be doing this often, but I’d do it again for special occasions because I love my wife.

7 Responses

  1. That is so sweet!

  2. That is about the sweetest thing I’ve ever heard. Your husband is a doll and you must be completely crazy to allow your husband to touch your cricut. (Only Kidding)
    Mine would have taken it apart to see the inside.

    • Thank you Sherry! I made my husband watch me while I used the Cricut so many times before he was good to go using it on his own :). I just had to make sure the settings were all correct, because he doesn’t have a clue about those!

  3. That is so cute! What a great guy to be willing to give this a try. Good job, Ant!

  4. Well, I do what I can. I just tried my best and it turned out well.

    PS – You’re Welcome

Leave a Reply

