• Sign up to get official La Georgia Paperie updates!

    Join 28 other followers

  • Contact Me

    Feel free to contact me at lageorgiapaperie@gmail.com. I'd love to hear from you!!
  • Me!

  • Featured On

  • Archives

  • Categories


My Birthday!

I must say, I had a very good birthday this year! On Sunday I went over to my in-laws house to “watch” the Bears game. Ant had to work, and unfortunately his train was delayed like an hour, so he got up there late and missed part of the game (…oh, darn). But, as soon he got there he surprised me with a Cookie Dough Blizzard cake from Dairy Queen!

On my way to the in-laws

Blizzard Cake!

Notice the flowers on the windowsill, they were the center pieces at our wedding, that now match nicely with their remodeled kitchen

I didn’t have to work on my actual birthday, so I got to sleep in and have a lazy morning. But, I didn’t forget about my Wii Fit Challenge, and I got a nice surprise when I first logged in!

You like me, you really like me!

Getting ready to leave for the Metra

I sat on the upper deck of the train

Snacks are an important part of any train ride

Did you know there was a Mars candy factory in Illinois? I didn’t!

After a looong train ride, I finally made it to the city. I’ve taken the Metra thousands of times before, but never from the Roselle station. Unlike the Wheaton train, the Roselle train feeds in to Union Station, instead of the more familiar Ogilvie Station. So, I had to try and maneuver out to the streets…. complicated! But, I finally made it, and we took a cab to River North for dinner at our favorite tapas place, Cafe Iberico.

Their sangria is ahh-mazing!

For some reason, Ant prefers red wine…

Our Ensalada de Alcachofas a la Vinagreta (artichokes) and Patatas Ali-Oli (potato salad)

Our Pincho de Pollo (chicken brochette)

And the ‘piece de resistance’… our Queso de Cabra (goat cheese)

After our faboosh dinner, Ant suggested we walk over to the Gold Coast for a special treat… SPRINKLES CUPCAKES! For those of you who aren’t familiar, Sprinkles is a very trendy cupcake bakery that was started in Beverly Hills, so all the celebs go there! The one in Chicago opened last summer and ever since I’ve wanted to go. The verdict…. totally lived up to the hype!!

Can you tell I’m super excited?!?

The goods!

Aren’t they adorbs?

Ant tried the Banana Dark Chocolate cupcake

And surprise, surprise… I got a Red Velvet!

My birthday was also Ant’s first day at his new job at the Associated Press. He left his bag at the office while we went out, so before we went to the train station, we had to go up and get it. It was cool to see his office, it definitely looks like one of those news rooms you see in the movies! He said so far so good with his job, and today he was able to really start learning his position.

Okay, whew, what a long post, thanks for sticking with me ’til the end! Off to do my Wii Fit for the day!

3 Responses

  1. Oh my gosh what a great time! Happy birthday young’n! I LOVE tapas, and sangria, and Sprinkles! Your birthday could totally be my fantasy bday, One thing, isn’t it snowing? WHY aren’t you two more bundled up! Oh my gosh you look absolutely comfortable and cute-I would be wearing about 10 layers and just roll around the city. Of course, CA girl here. I am freezing in 60 degree weather. Glad you had a fun time!

  2. Well, I’m glad you had fun. A delicious meal twas. I like the sunglasses picture

Leave a Reply

