• Sign up to get official La Georgia Paperie updates!

    Join 29 other followers

  • Contact Me

    Feel free to contact me at lageorgiapaperie@gmail.com. I'd love to hear from you!!
  • Me!

  • Featured On

  • Archives

  • Categories


Rust be Gone!

I swear, I’ve done more than just writing blog posts today! When Ant and I moved in together at the beginning of November we bought an inexpensive (yet nice looking) silverware set and a Faberware kitchen knives set. Now, I’m not quite sure why, but nearly all the knives from the silverware set and the knives set got rust on them. My forks and spoons are fine, so it’s double weird since they’re all basically brand new!

Fortunately there is this little thing called Google, and it helped me get rid of the yucky rust!

Ewww… look at all those rust spots on my new knife!

Baking soda to the rescue! Along with a toothbrush and a splash of water.

I dipped the dampened toothbrush in to the baking soda and rubbed it on each knife for 3-5 minutes

Voila! Look how sparkling clean it is!

This method didn’t work 100% on each knife, but I was able to get most of the little spots off. I used it on my hand-me-down pizza cutter as well (the rust was in the middle where the screw holds it in place), and it worked really well on that.

If anyone has any idea why my knives got rusty so quick (I should mention they’re all stainless steel!), and has any ideas on how to prevent future rust breakouts, I’d love your advice!

Leave a Reply

