• Sign up to get official La Georgia Paperie updates!

    Join 27 other subscribers
  • Contact Me

    Feel free to contact me at lageorgiapaperie@gmail.com. I'd love to hear from you!!
  • Me!

  • Featured On

  • Archives

  • Categories


Handmade Christmas Ornaments

This is not my original idea, but I did tweak the idea a bit to make it more my own.

In getting ready for the big move next week, I’ve been purchasing waaaaaay too much stuff for us. One of the things I got was a mini Christmas tree! It can’t be more than 24” tall… it’s probably more like 18”. Because it’s so small, regular size ornaments would look funny, so I bought some mini candy cane ornaments and some small clear ball ornaments. Here’s what I did with them!

These are the tools I used:
– 8.5×11” metallic silver paper (I used red too, both by Recollections)
-Cricut paper trimmer
-Stamps
-Inks
-Paintbrushes
-Clear ball ornaments

I covered my silver metallic paper with my snowflake stamps (for the red paper I used white ink)

I then took my Cricut paper trimmer and cut strips of the stamped paper hamburger style (aka 8.5” long) at random widths between .25” and .5”

Next I took a paintbrush and started to wind a strip of the paper around it

I wound the paper completely around the paintbrush

And finally I stuck the end of the paintbrush in the ornament and let go of the wound paper

The finished product! For these small ornaments I used about 13 strips of paper to fill them.

*A tip: I used different sized paintbrush handles to create different size paper swirls for an interesting look!

2 Responses

  1. […] little Christmas tree complete with hand made ornaments, instructions can be found here. I added a juniper scented diffuser and ‘Merry Christmas’ blocks from Target. If I had […]

  2. […] favors! I made tons of these guys, a tutorial can be found here. I got the little ‘thank you’ tags at Michaels and then on the back I wrote our name […]

Leave a comment