• Sign up to get official La Georgia Paperie updates!

    Join 29 other followers

  • Contact Me

    Feel free to contact me at lageorgiapaperie@gmail.com. I'd love to hear from you!!
  • Me!

  • Featured On

  • Archives

  • Categories


Fun with Shrinky Dinks!

The other day my fiance bought me a childhood favorite, shrinky dinks! And after watching Keeping Up with the Kardashians for the past 5 hours straight, I felt that I needed a break from all the “drama,” so I decided to try them out! I got the regular white Shrinky Dinks, they also sell a printer safe variety, but that was more expensive, so I didn’t go with that one

I started out by punching a 1.5” circle out of the Shrinky Dink material

Then I took my paper piercer and poked a hole near the top of the circle

The instructions recommended using Stazon ink (see my previous post on the stuff!), but I don’t have any, so I just used VersaMark and chalk ink

I stamped the sentiment, and it definitely was smearable, so I had to be extra careful not to (although I did, so I had to stamp it twice)

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees, and put the shrinky dinks on  a piece of brown paper bag

After just 2 minutes, it was ready!

The shrinky dink is now about the thickness of a nickel

It shrank down to .5”, and I touched the ink to see if it would smear. It didn’t smear, but some of the ink did come off so the sentiment was a lot lighter

Overall, it was a successful project, but I’m not able to use the hole I punctured in the shrinky dink because it was too small. Next time I think I’ll use my 1/8” hole punch to create a bigger hole. And, I’ll definitely have to get some Stazon ink, it will work much better I’m sure!

Thanks guys!

Leave a Reply

