• Sign up to get official La Georgia Paperie updates!

    Join 29 other followers

  • Contact Me

    Feel free to contact me at lageorgiapaperie@gmail.com. I'd love to hear from you!!
  • Me!

  • Featured On

  • Archives

  • Categories


The Most Traumatic Experience of My Life…

I previously mentioned the bet I had made with my fiance. If I were to eat a strawberry, he will buy me the Cricut Lite cart, Celebrate with Flourish, which just happens to have a cute strawberry cut on it. For those that don’t know, I have this totally irrational fear of strawberries and the seeds that cover the entire fruit (think the episode of Rugrats when Chuckie ate a watermelon seed and Tommy, Phil and Lil had to go in to Chuckie’s stomach and get it before it started to grow). Well, last night I took on the bet with a chocolate covered strawberry from Labriola, this awesome bakery cafe in Oak Brook. Here’s how it went down.

Enjoying my key lime tart first before delving in to the enemy

The enemy

Trying to get in the strawberry eating zone

Not sure if I can do it

Teeth have made contact with the outer coating… can this count?

I couldn’t get the image of the seeds out of my head, so Ant agreed to let me cut out a small piece from the middle

Antonio was enjoying this WAY too much at this point

It’s in (that’s what she said)! No going back now….

OMG, its OVER!

And you know what everyone who has wanted me to try a strawberry for the past 25 years, IT WAS GROSS. I haven’t been missing out on anything! But, I won the bet, so I’ll be getting the new Cricut cart soon. MISSION ACCOMPLISHED (although I liked being a “virgin”).

On another Cricut note, I got my rewards package today! I got the Mini Monograms cart with my points. It basically has 3 different fonts on it, which is neat. Except, some letters (like Z… Antonio) only have 1 style. I also got the lanyard and the license plate holder. The license plate holder is a bit different than what it looked like on the website, so I was kind of disappointed with it, but I’ll still put it on my car.

10 Responses

  1. Sometimes a woman has to do ANYTHING she can to get the prize. You set your sights on it and didn’t give up. You have done us proud!!! I would even eat aspargus if someone promised me a cartridge. *UGH* Enjoy Celebrate with Flourish!

  2. Mini Monograms is a great cart! It was the first cart I ever purchased with my Rewards Points. I’ve since got Basketball Solutions, Stamping and ZooBalloo!! Guess I buy too many carts. šŸ™‚

  3. You are so funny! That would be my DH, but with cucumbers. He would have stolen the rest of your chocolate covered strawberries from your plate-those are his faves!

    Hmm, I wonder what I can bet my DH so that I can get my Sizzix Texture Boutique? Thanks for the inspiration.

  4. My Mom has this fear as well. She also gave strawberries a try after about 40 years of abstaining and agreed with you. Not missing a thing. I have a little issue with watermelons I’m still working on šŸ™‚

  5. […] After the squash was done cooking, I scooped out all the seeds and goop (I’m so technical!). If you wanted you could cook the squash seeds like pumpkin seeds, but I just tossed them because you guys know about my hatred for seeds. […]

  6. […] felt like I was eating strawberry ice cream because of the color… and you guys know I have a problem with that. I wasn’t in the mood for mixing the flavors, so I opted to enjoy the ice cream in […]

Leave a Reply

